Mayor and Town Council

We extend to you an invitation to take an active part in supporting our community and helping to shape its future. If you like what you see and have any questions, please contact us  –  and we will be glad to get answers to any questions you may have about the Town. We hope you enjoy the web page and will decide to visit us soon.

The Gate City Town Council is governed by a Town Council/Town Manager form of government and comprised of a mayor and five council members. Elected by the registered voters of the town, the Town Council appoints a Town Manager to oversee the daily operations of town services based upon fair and impartial policies established by the Town Council. Each member holds a term of four years.

The Gate City Town Council meets monthly on the 2nd Tuesday at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers located at the Town Hall on 156 East Jackson Street, Gate City, VA 24251. A ‘public expression’ period is included on the agenda of the regular monthly meeting.

Council Minutes are on the Document Center page. For more information, email Town Clerk, Wayne Bledsoe at or call (276) 386-3831.

Frances Perry
(276) 220-3368 /


Mayor Frances Perry
Term Expires: June 30th, 2020

Roger Cassell
Council Member
Term Expires: Term Expires: June 30, 2022

 Allan “Cotton” Roberts
Term Expires: June 30, 2020

Wallace W. Ross, Jr.
Council Member
Term Expires: June 30, 2020

Vice Mayor Robin Richards
Term Expires: June 30, 2022

Ron Kindle
Council Member
Term Expires: June 30, 2020